Patna Collegiate School


Situated in Dariyapur area of the City, Patna Collegiate School is the oldest high school of Patna as well as of the State. It was founded way back in 1835 by the East India Company to spread the English pattern of Education in Bihar. 1835 was the year when it was finally decided by the Company officials, one of its member being Lord Macaulay, the then Law Minister in Governor-General's Council, to devote the limited resources Company was willing to spare on education to the teaching of western sciences and literature through the medium of English language alone. Patna became one of the choice which led to establishment of the school.

The School, which initially was referred as Patna High School, was rechristened as Patna Collegiate School in 1862. In 1927, it moved to its present building. The teaching in Science and Arts stream in +2 level was started in 1984. It is situated in a very impressive building in Dariyapur. It has 34 spacious and airy classrooms. It has well equipped labs in Physics, Chemistry and Biology. The School has shown good result in the board and intermediate examination. The school is affiliated to Bihar School Examination Board (BSEB). It is a government run school. The School was a pioneer one in the education field of the city for more than a century. It produced several noted alumni. One of its student, Satish Prasad Jha, of class XI, was one of the martyr's of 1942 Quit India Movement among the seven young student who laid his down life while trying to host Congress flat at the then Secretariat building. Shaheed Smarak is a tribute to those martyrs. The present condition of the school does not reflect the aura of its past.


  • Xth (Matric) Exam 2013
    First Division : 53
    Second Division : 65 
    Third Division :  09
  • XIIth (Intermediate) Exam 2013
    First Division : 169
    Second Division : 68
    Third Division : None
  • Xth (Matric) Exam 2012
    First Division : 85
    Second Division : 119
    Third Division : 29
  • XIIth (Intermediate) Exam 2012
    First Division : 189
    Second Division : 33
    Third Division : None