Nalanda Medical College, Patna

Nalanda Medical College, Patna was established on April 02, 1970 in Kankarbagh as a private medical college.  The first batch was started with 150 student. However, in 1978, Government of Bihar overtook its control and it was recognized by Medical Council of India (MCI). The college was moved to the current location. Student intake was reduced to 50 during the initial years, however MCI later granted intake of 100 student. During four decades, it has emerged as a reputed college and has developed immense potential.

The admission to the undergraduate courses are done through competitive entrance exams at National and State level. The post graduation courses were started in 2010, having capacity of 50 student. The departments of college & hospital are :

  • Pathology
  • Biochemistry
  • Pharmacology
  • Radio-Diagnosis
  • ENT
  • Community Medicine
  • Dental Surgery
  • Anatomy
  • Psychiatry
  • Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Skin, STD, & Leprosy
  • Surgery
  • Pediatrics
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopedics
  • Microbiology
  • TB & Chest
  • Medicine
  • Physiology
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Anesthesiology
  • Forensic Medicine & Toxicology

The college has up-to-date, fully equipped laboratory in the department of Biochemistry, Physiology, PSM, Microbiology, Pathology, Forensic Medicine and Pharmacology. The College has 3 hostels ( 2 hostels for boys and 1 hostel for girls), having adequate facilities like mess, security etc. The hospital ( Nalanda Medical College Hospital) is situated at Agamkuan  and is well connected by all communication means. It has 750 beads and treats 2000 patient on an average per day.

Nalanda Medical College Hospital (NMCH) has served the people of Patna during its four decade of journey. It is one of the foremost medical institute of the City.

How to reach :

The College is situated in Kankarbagh and is easily reachable by autos. Whereas the hospital is situated in Agamkuan.

Distance :

Patna Junction : 5-6 km
Airport :  13-14 km 
Mithapur Bus Stand : 8-9 km